ASPIRE League Outline

On July 21, 2009, the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Nanyang Technological University, Tsinghua University, and Tokyo Institute of Technology agreed to establish a consortium and named it the Consortium of the World-Leading Technical Universities in Asia. The network was created to form a hub for innovation in Asia through the advancement of science and technology and the development of human resources. In July 2010, in order to further the aims set out by the Consortium of the World-Leading Technical Universities in Asia, the five universities agreed to rename the consortium as the Asian Science and Technology Pioneering Institutes of Research and Education (ASPIRE) League. In the years that followed, the ASPIRE League has conducted the following forms of activities.

Research Collaboration

Various forms of research collaboration, including academic symposia, workshops, joint research projects, and exchanges of personnel and scientific information are implemented.

Student Exchanges

Aiming to foster young talent who will be able to tackle important issues in global society, member universities conduct a range of student exchanges.

ASPIRE League Educational Certificate

Joint educational activities implemented by two or more member universities may be recognized as an ASPIRE League educational program, and certificates will be issued by the League to participating students.

Satellite Laboratories and Satellite Offices

Member universities may establish a satellite laboratory and satellite office on their campuses. The satellite laboratory will be a core of research collaboration among member universities.