2016 ASPIRE Undergradute Research Academy

NTU Hosts Third ASPIRE Undergraduate Research Academy


Nanyang Technological University (NTU) has successfully conducted the third instalment of the ASPIRE Undergraduate Research Academy (UGRA) which was held from 10 to 14 July 2016. Vice President (International Affairs) Professor Er Meng Hwa, together with Associate Dean (Faculty and Development), College of Engineering Professor Lee Pooi See and Co-Director, Energy Research Institute @ NTU Professor Chan Siew Hwa, officiated at the opening ceremony where a welcome dinner was also held for all participants.


This year’s UGRA, themed “Energy Challenges and Solutions in Today’s Context”, saw a total of 24 undergraduate participants from the five member universities coming together for intellectual discourse as well as cultural exchanges.


As part of the programme, participants attended lectures delivered by NTU professors on topics closely related to the theme as well as visits to major industrial and research laboratories such as Rolls Royce. In a similar vein, participants also presented their respective research to a panel of professors, head by Professor Lee Pooi See. Apart from academic programmes, participants were also exposed to cultural and social activities which bolstered friendship and deepened understanding among them.


NTU has been hosting the UGRA since its inception in 2014. Mooted by NTU during the Vice Presidents’ and Senior Staff Meeting in 2012, the UGRA is an enrichment program for undergraduate students of the five ASPIRE League member universities who are conducting research projects in the areas of energy and sustainability. The programme encompassed various angles — including technical, physical, environmental or business aspects — of the theme identified, while also giving the young participants a chance to discover about Singapore.


Fact Sheets

List of Participants

University HKUST KAIST Tokyo Tech Tsinghua NTU
No. of Students 5 6 5 3 5
Total 24


Award Recipients

Each participant had to present his/her research related to the theme. The presentations were evaluated by a panel of NTU professors,
led by Professor Lee Pooi See, Associate Dean (Faculty and Development), College of Engineering. The winners are as follow:

Award Recipients
1st Place Mr. Lee Young Joon, KAIST
2nd Place Mr. Kim Sihoon, KAIST
3rd Place Mr. Goh Jing Yaw, NTU
4th Place Ms. Loo Yan Ping, HKUST
5th Place Ms. Xiao Qianru, NTU
Mr/Miss Congeniality Mr. Goh Jing Yaw, NTU




Vice President (International Affairs) Professor Er Meng Hwa (extreme left),
together with Associate Dean (Faculty and Development),
College of Engineering Professor Lee Pooi See (2nd from left) and Co-Director,
Energy Research Institute @ NTU Professor Chan Siew Hwa (extreme right),
welcoming the participants during the opening ceremony of UGRA 2016.



Participants visiting Rolls Royce as part of the programme for UGRA 2016.


Professor Alessandro Romagnoli (standing) giving a lecture on thermal energy recovery and management.


Professor Chan Siew Hwa (standing) explaining to the participants
how fuel cells could lead to a more sustainable future.


Professor Lee (2nd from right, front row) sharing a light moment
with the participants after their ride on one of Singapore’s
iconic attractions, the Singapore Flyer.


Friendship forged and strengthened among the 24 participants through UGRA 2016.


Professor Lee (second from left) and her panelists Professor Romagnoli (extreme left) and
Dr. Ding Ovi Lian (extreme right) together with the award winners.


Participants receiving their certificates from Professor Lee (5th from left, front row)
on the final day of UGRA 2016.


This report was provided by Nanyang Technological University.